1st Presbyterian Church
1003 Burrell Avenue
Cooperstown, ND 58425
In 1923 the Methodist and Congregational Churches of Cooperstown decided to merge. In order that no loyalties would be insulted they decided to become a third denomination, Presbyterian. This new denomination had 2 church buildings. Services were held in the Congregational church, located on the SW corner of the intersection of Lenham and 11th street (currently the Wade Faul residence site), until 1939 when it was sold to the Roman Catholics. At that time the Presbyterians moved to the Methodist Church, which had been used as a recreation hall. This building was originally a Norwegian Dane Methodist Episcopal church built in 1885 on Gethsemane Hill. According to the Sentinel Courier it was "run" down the hill to its present location. 1st Presbyterian is part of Tri-County Ministry, an ecumenical effort, which is a model for rural ministry that has had national attention as an answer for declining numbers of clergy.

Cornerstone Community Church 


Cornerstone Community Church is a unique church.  We are affiliated with the Evangelical Free Church of America.  But that's not what makes it unique.   We have a church facility with the young and old in mind. ( it's handicap accessible & has a gym.)    Our congregation sings old hymns as well as contemporary choruses.  We reach out to our community with a variety of progarms & events... which reflects our Mission Statement  "Sharing God's Love with Everyone, Everywhere.  Please join us for any of the events listed below:

For "sights & sounds" of our church please visit our web site:  www.cornercc.org  or write us:  cornerstone@cornercc.org

Grace Lutheran Church, LCMS
1010 Burrel Ave. SE
Cooperstown, ND 58425




Grace Lutheran Church, a church of The Lutheran Church Missouri Synod, (LCMS) was established in 1947 when application was made to the district office to establish a mission.   Church members braced for a period of long, hard work. With nearly all labor on the church being voluntary, work progressed more slowly than had originally hoped. It was estimated that more than 7,000 hours of volunteer labor by church members, helpers from the community and helpers from sister congregations had been worked.    Even as work on the main floor of the church progressed, services were regularly held in the basement.   In 1980, the bell that was given to Grace in 1947 was mounted in the front churchyard to announce the beginning of worship.   On November 9, 1986 the stained glass windows were dedicated. The Carrol and Marvin Retzlaff families in memory of their parents, Alfred and Julia, presented the windows in the nave and narthex as a gift to Grace Church.  Members and friends of Rev. Willard C. Laatz presented the windows in the balcony of the church as a gift to Grace Church.   In January of 1997, a triple parish consisting of Grace, Cooperstown; Zion, Binford; and Trinity, Hope was formed.  Currently serving as pastor is Rev. Charles E. Johnson who was installed on April 13,1997. Rev. Johnson retired on August 14, 2016. A quad parish was formed on Sept 1, 2016 with Grace, Carrington; St. Pauls, Sykeston; Zion, Binford; and Grace, Cooperstown. Services are held at Grace, Cooperstown the second and fourth Sundays of the month and on the fifth Sundays. Services are at 11 a.m.

St. George Catholic Church
Box 217
Cooperstown, ND 58425
Lead Pastor: Father Dale Kinzler
The Catholic communities of Cooperstown, Jessie, Aneta and Finley challenge the common mystique of the emerging twenty-first century with the truth and values of revelation, of both old and new testaments, and the living word of God in Jesus Christ directed by the Holy Spirit through 2000 years of the history of saints and sinners after Jesus’ resurrection. We firmly believe that truth does not lie within the confines of the human mind, heart, and personality but is a gift revealed under God’s terms and not humankind’s. We strive to live the gospel, not under anyone’s personal terms, but through the teachings of Christ, the Lord of time and timelessness. In this we are guided by the representative of Christ on earth: the Holy Father and the Bishops in communion with him.
Trinity Lutheran Church
1104 Roberts Ave. NE
Cooperstown, ND 58425
Lead Pastor: Staffed by the Tri-County Ministry
  • »Sunday School for four year olds through tenth grade. No Sunday School June-August.
  • »Ecumenical Vacation Bible School in June.
  • »Confirmation instruction Wednesday evenings September - May.
  • »Text Study each Tuesday morning at 6:30 a.m. at the Coachman Inn.
  • »Bible Study each Thursday at noon during the winter months.
  • »Lutheran Women Today Study monthly.
  • »Choir - Practices held Sunday at 8:30 a.m.
  • »Circles meet monthly for Bible Study, mission and fellowship.
  • »Quilting each Tuesday - September - May.
  • »Junior High and Senior High programs and trips.

Zion Lutheran Church
101 10th Street SE Cooperstown, ND 58425
Church Office: 701-797-3137
Parsonage: 701-797-3122
Lead Pastor: Rev. John Lee

Church  Staff:

Cas Aarestad, Chairman 

Nathan Lunde, Elder
Norman Tafelmeyer, Elder
Don Vigesaa, Elder
Brenda Starke, Secretary
Elaine Aarestad, Organist

Worship Service: 10:00 am
Sunday School:   11:00 am

Visit our website: www.zionlb.com

Believing that the calling of the Church is to make disciples of Jesus Christ, the mission of Zion Lutheran Church is to address the spiritual needs of individuals of all ages by providing opportunities for biblical preaching and teaching, congregational worship, Bible study, prayer, fellowship, and service to others. By these means, and with prayer, we expect that unbelievers will be evangelized and believers will be nurtured in the faith and equipped to minister in this community and beyond. Our congregation was founded in 1886, a few miles south of town and was originally named Elim Lutheran Church. It came to be known as the Westley Church, because the land upon which the building and cemetery was built was purchased from the Ola Westley family. In 1896, Elim merged with Thime Norwegian Evangelical Lutheran Church and was renamed Ebenezer Norwegian Lutheran Church. In 1919, when it joined the Church of the Lutheran Brethren of America, the group came to be known as Zion Lutheran Church (A Church of the Lutheran Brethren).