Cooperstown was incorporated in 1906. We are a mayor/council form of government and became a Home Rule city in July of 1996. City Banners
Cooperstown City Hall is located at 611 9th Street NE or Highway 45 (9th St) and Roberts Avenue. We have a huge bell situated just outside our front door so our building is pretty easily recognized.
City Hall serves as information central. We can direct most any question we can't answer to someone who probably can. Our posted hours at 9:00 AM to noon and 1:00 PM to 4:00 PM.
Contact City Hall: 701.797.3613
  • Mayor Paul Paintner
  • Griggs County Sheriff Bob Hook
  • City Auditor Nancy Lunde
  • City Secretary Mel Hoyt
  • Ambulance Billing Clerk Mel Hoyt
  • Water Street and Sewer Superintendent Blaine Larson
  • City Council Bryan Ressler, Hope Stadler, Lee Watne, Rick Cushman, Welton Cochrane and Tim Erickson
  • Council meetings are held on the 1st Monday of every month at 7:00 PM at our meeting room in City Hall.
  • City Employees Chad Johnson and Randy Myers
The Cooperstown Park Board has many exciting facilities and events to offer our community. The Park Board is funded by a city mill levy and its members are elected from the city. The current members are: President,Carolyn Nelson. Annette Heyerdahl serves as the Park Board clerk. City Hall
Cooperstown is also the Griggs County Seat. County offices are located in the courthouse which is located at: 808 Rollin Avenue SW. Their information phone number is 797-3117. More information can be obtained at the North Dakota Associaton of Counties web site.